VPN 與 Tor:何時使用 Tor 或 VPN

獲取PrivadoVPN
30天退款保證
可以用來:
VPN 與 Tor:何時使用 Tor 或 VPN

什麼是 Tor 及其與 VPN 的關係

Onion Router (TOR) 是一種網絡瀏覽器,通過一系列代理路由您的所有瀏覽數據,幫助保護您的在線身份。他們不提供 VPN 服務,但它是一個類似於 VPN 的系統,因為它通過另一台服務器(或三台,對於 Tor)路由您的互聯網數據來掩蓋您的 IP 地址。

Tor 與 VPN 的不同之處在於它不會加密您的任何信息。 VPN 服務提供商通過阻止您的 ISP 保留您的在線活動日誌來更有效地保護您的隱私。此外,VPN 將確保即使您的活動受到監控,第三方也無法讀取。

Tor 瀏覽器的工作原理

Tor 力學

“Tor”這個名稱是“The Onion Router”的首字母縮寫詞,暗指有新的安全層來幫助保護您的隱私。

Tor 瀏覽器主要從事的是 IP 掩蔽的多步形式。當您啟動瀏覽器時,您將連接到地球上其他地方的代理服務器。然後,在您的計算機連接到您嘗試訪問的任何站點之前,您“跳轉”了另外兩個服務器節點。當該站點向您發回信息時,它也會經過三個隨機節點。

這個想法是,這使得流量分析變得非常困難。流量分析涉及觀察各種節點並記錄誰在訪問什麼。因為您的數據經過如此多的節點,所以沒有一個節點同時知道該數據的來源和目的地。

此外,Tor 瀏覽器是訪問所謂“暗網”網站所必需的。事實上,暗網地址通常以“.onion”結尾,表示它與 Tor 的連接。這些網站不像常規網站那樣沒有被編入索引或被抓取,並且具有更高的安全級別和更少的日誌。由於您必須使用隱藏 IP 的特殊瀏覽器,因此用戶自動能夠更好地保護其在線活動的私密性。

Tor 安全優勢

  • 從您啟動瀏覽器的那一刻起,Tor 就會隱藏您的 IP 地址。
  • 使用瀏覽器和洋蔥網絡是完全免費的。
  • Tor 網絡由世界各地的志願者分佈和運行,因此政府和組織很難將其關閉。

缺點

  • 與 VPN 不同,Tor 可能非常慢。事實上,它通常比通過 VPN 使用的其他瀏覽器慢得多。這不僅會降低您的 Internet 瀏覽速度,還會使通過瀏覽器玩遊戲或觀看視頻變得非常困難。
  • Tor 網絡是一個志願者組織,所以任何人都可以在上面建立一個節點。網絡沒有問責製或資金,只有一群人設置了要使用的服務器。
  • 任何人都可以在 Tor 網絡上設置出口節點,並且沒有加密,這意味著通過該連接發送的所有信息都可以在服務器日誌中捕獲。黑客可以輕鬆設置其中之一併監控您的所有在線活動。
  • 使用 Tor 可以通過監視和安全操作引起對您的注意。訪問一些黑暗網站會給您帶來麻煩。
  • Tor 上的 IP 掩碼可能會以多種方式失敗,包括如果您在仍然連接到網絡的情況下將其用於某些類型的文件傳輸或打開文檔。
獲取PrivadoVPN

VPN 網絡對您有何幫助

VPN 機制

使用 VPN 類似於 Tor,但具有許多高級功能,使其通常更加通用。

VPN 運行一個服務器網絡,隱藏您的 IP 地址以保護您的隱私,類似於 Tor。然而,與 Tor 不同的是,VPN 往往只使用一個更強大的服務器來路由您的流量,因此它比通過各種志願者節點要快得多。這在保持速度的同時保護了 VPN 合作夥伴的隱私。

然而,VPN 和 Tor 之間最顯著的區別在於 VPN 還會加密您的數據。這意味著如果您的互聯網連接受到監控,第三方將無法讀取數據。這是避免 Tor 問題的最簡單方法,即人們保留通過出口節點的流量日誌。

某些 VPN 提高在線安全性的另一種方式是保持嚴格的無日誌(或“零日誌”)政策。這是您保證您的 VPN 不會監視您訪問的內容或以其他方式侵犯您的隱私。由於 Tor 沒有中央組織,他們無法做出同樣的承諾。

VPN 最後的想法:當談到全面的安全和隱私保護計劃時,使用 VPN 是不會出錯的。

VPN優勢

  • VPN 比 Tor 快得多,因為它們使用自己的專用網絡,您只需通過一個節點。
  • 一個好的 VPN 將採用零日誌政策來保護您的隱私。
  • 您的所有 Internet 連接都受到 VPN 訪問的保護,而不僅僅是通過 Tor 的連接。
  • VPN Kill Switch可保護您免受數據洩露,如果您不小心斷開與 VPN 的連接,它會切斷您的 Internet 源,然後在您重新連接時將其重新打開,從而提高您的安全性。

缺點

  • 除非您願意觀看廣告或遵守速度/流量限制,否則您通常無法免費訪問 VPN。 PrivadoVPN每月為用戶提供 10GB 的免費數據。
  • 您無法僅使用 VPN 訪問 .onion 網站。

您需要 VPN 還是 Tor?

根據您使用 Internet 的方式,您可能需要 VPN 或 Tor 才能完成您想做的事情。

如果您想要一種廉價(免費)、不受限制的方式來保護您的隱私,並且不介意它不是特別健壯,那麼 Tor 是極好的選擇。開放的 Internet 安全協議和志願者網絡使您可以輕鬆隱藏您的 IP。這也是您訪問暗網的唯一途徑,暗網為記者、舉報人、自由鬥士和其他弱勢群體提供隱私資源。

話雖這麼說,因為 Tor 太慢了,而且它提供的隱私保護也很少,所以你通常最好使用 VPN。

VPN 可以做 Tor 做的所有事情,除了瀏覽 .onion 網站,而且更好更快。 VPN 訂閱不僅讓您能夠使用專用服務器網絡,加快您的連接速度,而且還會屏蔽您的 IP,確保您的身份安全。

此外,使用 VPN,您還可以對所有在線活動進行加密,這是 Tor 所缺乏的。

如果您可以選擇,在大多數情況下 VPN 將是您的最佳選擇。

獲取PrivadoVPN

經常問的問題

Tor 是一種 Web 瀏覽器,可通過來自世界各地的志願者網絡的三個隨機選擇的服務器路由您的所有流量。它可以保護您的瀏覽歷史不被直接追溯到您。但是,它沒有加密,往往很慢,並且只提供最低限度的在線安全性。

VPN 是一種服務,它通過一個專為處理它而構建的服務器來路由您的所有 Internet 流量。它不僅可以隱藏您的身份,還可以對所有內容進行加密,以防止第三方讀取,從而保護您的所有信息。像PrivadoVPN這樣的 VPN 在世界各地都有可供您選擇的服務器。

VPN 將為您提供最快的速度。由於 Tor 將您的瀏覽路由到多個不同質量的節點,因此它會顯著降低您的連接速度。使用 VPN,在大多數情況下您將獲得更快的速度。

是的,您絕對可以在 VPN 網絡上使用 Tor。但是,借助 VPN 的功能,您通常會變得不必要地多餘。除非您嘗試查看 .onion 頁面,否則 VPN 應該可以滿足您的大部分需求。但是,如果您仍然想使用 Tor,那麼在 VPN 上這樣做應該沒有問題。

選擇一個計劃來保護您的互聯網連接

12個月計劃
節省 55%
12個月計劃
4.99
/莫
  • 無限數據
  • 無限設備
  • 服務器在 城市
  • 流媒體支持
  • 最多 10 個連接
  • 零日誌
  • 廣告攔截器
  • 威脅預防
  • 家長控制權
選擇
30天退款保證
24個月計劃
節省 64%
24個月計劃
3.99
/莫
  • 無限數據
  • 無限設備
  • 服務器在 城市
  • 流媒體支持
  • 最多 10 個連接
  • 零日誌
  • 廣告攔截器
  • 威脅預防
  • 家長控制權
選擇
30天退款保證
1個月計劃
1個月計劃
10.99/莫
  • 無限數據
  • 無限設備
  • 服務器在 城市
  • 流媒體支持
  • 最多 10 個連接
  • 零日誌
  • 廣告攔截器
  • 威脅預防
  • 家長控制權
選擇

無日誌服務器全球各國

無論您是在環遊世界並想在家中觀看您開始的節目,還是只是想躲避窺探,您都可以找到滿足您需求的最快 VPN 服務器。

阿爾巴尼亞
阿根廷
澳大利亞
奧地利
比利時
巴西
保加利亞
加拿大
捷克共和國
丹麥
芬蘭
法國
德國
希臘
中國香港特別行政區
匈牙利
印度
印度尼西亞
愛爾蘭
以色列
意大利
日本
韓國(南)
拉脫維亞
馬來西亞
荷蘭
新西蘭
挪威
菲律賓
波蘭
葡萄牙
羅馬尼亞
俄羅斯聯邦
塞爾維亞
新加坡
斯洛伐克
斯洛文尼亞
南非
西班牙
瑞典
瑞士
中華民國台灣
泰國
火雞
烏克蘭
英國
美國
55
/js/scripts.min.js

Black Friday Deal!
1.99 Unlimited VPN + 3 Months FREE
  • Unlimited Data
  • Unlimited Speed
  • Streaming Support
  • Unlimited Devices
  • Zero-Log
  • Ad Blocker

VPN vs Tor: When to Use Tor or a VPN

Get PrivadoVPN
30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
Available For:
VPN vs Tor: When to Use Tor or a VPN

What is Tor and How Does it Relate to VPNs

The Onion Router (TOR) is a web browser that helps to protect your online identity by routing all of your browsing data through a series of proxies. They do not offer VPN services, but it is a similar system to VPNs in that it masks your IP address by routing your Internet data through another server (or three, in the case of Tor).

What makes Tor different from a VPN is that it doesn't encrypt any of your information. VPN service providers protect your privacy more effectively by preventing your ISP from keeping logs of your online activity. Furthermore, a VPN will ensure that even if your activity is monitored, it will be unreadable by third parties.

How Tor Browser Works

Tor Mechanics

The name "Tor" is an acronym for "The Onion Router," alluding to the fact that there are layers of new security to help protect your privacy.

What Tor browser is primarily engaged in is a multi-step form of IP masking. When you start the browser up, you are connected to a proxy server someplace else on the planet. You then "hop" through two more server nodes before your computer connects with whatever site you were trying to access. When that site sends you information back, it will also go through three random nodes.

The idea is that this makes traffic analysis very difficult. Traffic analysis involves watching various nodes and keeping logs of who is accessing what. Because your data travels through so many nodes, no one node knows both the origin and destination of that data.

Moreover, Tor browser is necessary to go to sites on the so-called "dark web". In fact, a dark website address generally ends in ".onion," indicating its connection to Tor. These are websites that aren't indexed or crawled like regular sites and have higher levels of security with fewer logs. Because you have to use a special browser that hides your IP, users are automatically better able to keep their online activity private.

Tor Security Advantages

  • Tor hides your IP address from the moment you start up the browser.
  • It's entirely free to use both the browser and the Onion Network.
  • The Tor Network is distributed and run by volunteers around the world, so it's difficult for governments and organizations to shut it down.

Tor Disadvantages

  • Unlike a VPN,Tor can be incredibly slow. In fact, it generally is noticeably slower than other browsers used through VPNs. This not only bogs down your Internet browsing, but it also makes gaming through the browser or watching video very difficult.
  • The Tor Network is a volunteer organization, so anyone can set up a node on it. There is no accountability or funding for the network, just a bunch of people who set up a server to be used.
  • It's possible for anyone to set up an exit node on the Tor Network, and with no encryption, that means that all the information sent through that connection can be captured in server logs. Hackers can easily set one of these up and monitor all of your online activity.
  • Using Tor can draw attention to you by surveillance and security operations. And accessing some dark web sites can get you in trouble.
  • There are several ways that the IP masking on Tor can fail, including if you're using it for certain types of file transfer or open documents while you still have a connection to the network.
Get PrivadoVPN

What a VPN Network Helps You With

VPN Mechanics

Working with a VPN is similar to Tor, but has a number of advanced features that make it generally more versatile.

VPNs operate a network of servers that hide your IP address to protect your privacy, similar to Tor. However, unlike Tor, a VPN tends to only use a single, more robust server to route your traffic through, so it's a lot faster than going through the various volunteer nodes. This protects the VPN partners privacy while keeping speeds up.

The most significant difference between VPNs and Tor, however, is that a VPN will also encrypt your data. This means that if your Internet connection is being monitored, the data will be unreadable by the third party. It's the easiest way to avoid the issue with Tor of people keeping logs of traffic coming through exit nodes.

Another way that some VPNs increase your online security is by keeping a strict no logs (or 'zero logs') policy. This is your guarantee that your VPN isn't watching what you access or otherwise invading your privacy. With no central organization for Tor, they can't make the same promise.

VPN final thoughts: when it comes to a well rounded security and privacy protection plan, you can't go wrong with a VPN.

VPN Advantages

  • VPNs are significantly faster than Tor because they use their own, dedicated network and you only have to pass through one node.
  • A good VPN will have a zero log policy to protect your privacy.
  • All your Internet connections are protected with access to a VPN, not just the ones that go through Tor.
  • You're protected from data leaks by a VPN Kill Switch, which increases your security by cutting your Internet feed if you accidentally disconnect from the VPN, then turning it back on when you reconnect.

VPN Disadvantages

  • You generally can't access VPNs for free unless you are willing to watch ads or abide by speed/traffic limitations. PrivadoVPN provides users with 10GB free of data every month.
  • You can't access .onion sites with only a VPN.

Do You Need a VPN or Tor?

Depending on how you use the Internet, you might need either a VPN or Tor in order to do what you want to do.

Tor is excellent if you want an inexpensive (free), unlimited way to protect your privacy, and don't mind if it's not particularly robust. Open Internet security protocols and a volunteer network make it so you can hide your IP easily. It's also the only way that you can access the dark web, which has privacy resources for journalists, whistleblowers, freedom fighters, and other vulnerable groups.

That being said, because Tor is so slow and the privacy protection it offers is minimal, you're generally better off with a VPN.

A VPN can do everything Tor does except browse .onion sites, but better and faster. Not only will a VPN subscription give you the ability to use a dedicated server network, speeding up your connection, but it also will mask your IP, keeping your identity secure.

Furthermore, with a VPN you also get encryption for all of your online activity, something that Tor lacks.

If you have the choice, a VPN is going to be your best bet in most situations.

Get PrivadoVPN

Frequently Asked Questions

Tor is a web browser that routes all of your traffic through three randomly chosen servers from a volunteer network located around the world. It can protect your browsing history from being traced directly back to you. However, it comes with no encryption, tends to be slow, and only provides minimal online security.

A VPN is a service that routes all of your Internet traffic through one server that is built to handle it. It protects all your information by not only hiding your identity, but also encrypting everything so that it can't be read by third parties. A VPN like PrivadoVPN has servers that you can choose from located all over the world.

A VPN is going to give you the best speeds. Because Tor routes your browsing through several nodes of varying quality, it significantly slows down your connection. With a VPN, you're going to get faster speeds in most cases.

Yes, you absolutely can use Tor while you're on a VPN network. However, with the capabilities of a VPN, you're generally being needlessly redundant. Unless you're trying to view .onion pages, a VPN should cover most of your needs. However, if you still want to use Tor, you shouldn't have an issue doing so on a VPN.

Pick a Plan to Protect Your Internet Connection

Free Plan
Free Plan
0.00/mo
10GB Data Every 30 Days
  • 10GB Data Every 30 Days
  • Servers in 12 Cities
  • 1 Connection
  • Zero-Logs
  • Unlimited Devices
Select
12 Month Plan
Save 38%
12 Month Plan
4.99
/mo
Billed 95.88 59.88 every 12 months
  • Unlimited Data
  • Servers in Cities
  • Up to 10 Simultaneous Connections
  • Zero-Logs
  • Unlimited Devices
Select
30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
1 Month Plan
1 Month Plan
7.99/mo
Billed 7.99 every month
  • Unlimited Data
  • Servers in Cities
  • Up to 10 Simultaneous Connections
  • Zero-Logs
  • Unlimited Devices
Select

Hundreds of Servers in Countries Around the Globe

Whether you're traveling the world and want to access the show from home that you started or simply want to hide from prying eyes, you'll be able to find the fastest VPN server to meet your needs.

Albania
Argentina
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Brazil
Bulgaria
Canada
Czech Republic
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany
Greece
Hong Kong, SAR China
Hungary
India
Indonesia
Ireland
Israel
Italy
Japan
Latvia
Malaysia
Mexico
Netherlands
New Zealand
Norway
Philippines
Poland
Portugal
Romania
Serbia
Singapore
Slovakia
Slovenia
South Africa
Spain
Switzerland
Taiwan, Republic of China
Thailand
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdom
United States of America
/js/scripts.min.js